About the DTAA


The Dance Movement Therapy Association of Australasia was formally incorporated in 1994, as the Dance Therapy Association of Australia.  This followed many years of hard work by a steering committee and operations as the Dance Therapy Working Party, a sub-committee of Ausdance. This article by Andrew Morrish, the Convenor of the Dance Therapy Working Party and Vice Chairperson, AADE (Australian Association for Dance Education, later Ausdance) Victoria outlines the development of the dance-movement therapy profession in Victoria until 1989, before the formation of the DTAA. The Development of Dance Therapy Practice in Victoria: The Status Quo and the Future, Conference paper presented at National Conference of the AADE, April 1989.

The DTAA became known as the Dance Movement Therapy Association of Australia in 2012, and then in 2014, members agreed to change the DTAA’s name and scope to the Dance Movement Therapy Association of Australasia to better include dance therapy colleagues from neighbouring countries in the Australasia region.


The organisation is based in Melbourne, Australia, where there is the strongest community of dance movement therapists, but there are members in each state and territory of Australia, New Zealand, some Asian countries and other countries in Europe and the Americas. In 2016, there are approximately 160 members.

The DTAA has held four national conferences, in 1992, 2000, 2007 and 2015.

Since its incorporation in 1994, the DTAA has been led by a Committee of Management of practitioners led by a President.

Presidents of the DTAA:

Heather Hill (1994-1995)
Hanny Exiner (1996)
Naomi Aitchison (1997)
Karen Bond (1998-2000)
Denis Kelynack (2001-2006)
Jane Guthrie (2007-2015)
Kim Dunphy (2015- )

Annual Report

The Annual Report 2016 is available here.

Annual General Meeting

DTAA AGM minutes 2016 are available here.