Board and Executive

The Board has a responsibility to DTAA members to fulfil the organization’s functions as expressed in its objectives, which are part of the Constitution. The objectives are to improve the health, wellbeing and creativity of the people of Australasia, by improving the quality and expanding the reach of dance movement therapy in Australasia. This is achieved by providing identity, representation and criteria for certification and registration (Professional Membership) of Australasian dance movement therapists. The Association’s activities include providing opportunities for networking, publishing a journal, producing professional literature, organising in-services and conferences (continuing professional development), establishing resources (library; responding to enquiries) and addressing industrial and /or employment issues.

To achieve these objectives, a number of Committees undertake specific tasks and report back to the Board. These are Admin; Finance; Publications including Journal; Professional Membership; PACFA liaison; Continuing Professional Development; Regional Liaison; Research; and the Hanny Exiner Memorial Foundation. Other specific projects arise from time to time, such as the current Competency, NDIS and Supervision projects that are led by sub-committees. All DTAA activities or business come under one of these committees. The General Committee meets monthly by Zoom and at least annually in person at the Annual General Meeting.

An Executive Committee comprising the President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer provide leadership for the Board.

Board Members

Kim Dunphy (President)

Kim Dunphy, BA, Grad Dip Movement Dance, M.Ed, PhD, DTAA (Prof. DMT), has worked as a dance educator and therapist in a range of settings, including community groups, schools, hospitals and disability services. She has lectured in dance education at Deakin and Melbourne Universities and dance movement therapy at RMIT University and Phoenix Institute. Kim is currently a Mackenzie Post-Doctoral Research Fellow at the newly established Creative Arts Therapies Research Unit at the University of Melbourne, Australia, where she is exploring her interests in assessment and evaluation of DMT. Her publications include Freedom to Move: Movement and dance for children with intellectual disabilities with Jenny Scott (2003), and a chapter in the edited collection Counselling and Psychotherapy Works published by the Psychotherapy and Counselling Federation of Australia (2015).

Prior to her role as President, Kim was Vice-President for almost a decade, with contributions to the DTAA in other roles prior to that. Kim has a lifelong passion for dance and its contribution to a good life, and her work in dance therapy enables others to have that enjoyment as well. Kim views her work with the DTAA as essential, given the small size and relative youth of our profession. She believes that DM therapists need to work together to improve the quality and reach of our services, and that the DTAA is a vital agent in that task.

Contact Kim on



Jane GuthrieJane Guthrie (Secretary)

Jane Guthrie, B. App. Sc. Phyty, Grad Dip Movement and Dance, Dance Therapy Certificate, M. Ed {Advanced Studies in Movement and Dance}, DTAA (Prof. DMT), is an experienced dance movement therapist, physiotherapist and Certified Movement Analyst who was formerly Head of Department in a busy rehabilitation hospital. She has lectured in dance movement therapy at IDTIA, Phoenix Institute and RMIT University. Jane is skilled in working with clients who have head injuries, work related injuries and other neurological problems. She incorporates dance movement therapy as part of a holistic approach to her clients’ needs, using a combination of functional and expressive approaches to movement. Jane is an Associate Editor for the international journal Body, Movement and Dance in Psychotherapy. She was the DTAA’s President between 2007 and 2015, and is currently editor of the journal Moving On.

Jane can be contacted at 

Robyn Price (Treasurer)


Robyn can be contacted at

Ben Assan (Assistant Treasurer/Finance)

Ben Assan

Ben Assan, Bachelor Child and Adolescent Psych Nursing, Grad Dip Movement Dance, Post Grad Dip Family Therapy, Adv Cert Couple Therapy, DTAA (Associate), originally from Ghana, is a child and family therapist at the Austin Hospital. He uses his dance movement therapy expertise in his work with hard to engage adolescents and their families. Ben has experience in community residential and forensic mental health and has been published in peer-reviewed journals including the Australian Journal of Psychiatry.

Ben can be contacted at


Sharon PaetzoldSharon Paetzold (General Member and Convener Supervision Sub-Committee)

Sharon Paetzold, Grad Dip Ment Hlth Sc.(Child, Adolescent & Family Therapies), Dip Gestalt Therapy, BSW (Hons), Dip Soc. Sc., Integrative Tanztherapie (DMT, Germany), DTAA (Associate), works as a clinical social worker and gestalt movement therapist with children, youth and adults in private practice.

She is a certified trainer, clinical consultant, therapist and supervisor who provides therapeutic and consulting services across Melbourne. Sharon has substantial clinical experience in child, adolescent and family psychiatry, primary health care, family violence and sexual assault services for more than 25 years. Special areas of interest include – complex trauma and body psychotherapy, interpersonal violence and trauma, attachment and trauma issues, post-traumatic stress and comorbidity issues.

Contact Sharon on

Maeve Larkin  (General Member)

Dip. Dance Therapy IDTIA, M Ed. (Advanced studies in Movement and Dance, Melb. Uni), Dip. Ed. Movement and Dance

Anna SchlusserAnna Schlusser (General Member)

Dip. Dance Therapy IDTIA, M Ed. (Advanced studies in Movement and Dance, Melb. Uni), Dip. Ed. Movement and Dance (Goldsmiths, London Uni), Grad. Dip Movement and Dance (Melb. Uni), Diploma KTC Perth, WA, (kindergarten teacher training), DTAA (Prof. DMT).

Anna Schlusser has worked as a dance educator and therapist in a range of settings, including studio settings, community arts centres, kindergartens, day care centres and schools. She is currently IDTIA’s Coordinator of Advanced Clinical Training. She lectured for IDTIA’s Certificate course, and provides supervision to IDTIA’s ACT dance therapy trainees. She is interested in performance as therapy. Her Masters thesis Inclusive Practice in the Performing Arts was based on ten years of dance and theatre improvisation and performance with “Stretch Physical Theatre”, a group of adults with and without intellectual disabilities. She enjoys assisting edit DTAA’s journal Moving On. She taught creative dance to children, parents and young children, and adults for twenty years.